Going Loopy in the Wild West

State of the Great Loop

I feel that I have some explanations about my goals hiking in the Canyons and Mountains West.

My goal is to emulate Andrew Skurka’s Great Western Loop hike in sections.  Andrew did the most incredible thru hike ever, travelling near to 7000 miles in about six months, on what he calls the Great Western Loop – a melange of the great trails in the west. He is one of my hero’s, right up there with John Muir, Henry David Thoreau and others. Google it for details at http://andrewskurka.com

P1020745
PCT 2014

My design is a far different style of hiking doing  the loop in big sections over a period of years. The scope of my hike is a bit longer with more time spent on side excursions and explorations.  I will probably hike over 8000 miles by the time I close the loop.

Thus far I have completed the Pacific Crest and the Arizona National Scenic Trails, a traverse of Joshua Tree National Park, a section of The Grand Enchantment Trail between the AZT and the CDT and a section North on the CDT from the Gila Wilderness to Northern New Mexico.   This is a distance of about 4500 Miles.  Only 3500 miles to go to close the loop!

If you are paying attention you will note that The Great Loop does not include the whole of the PCT and the AZT.  I elected to hike the entire length of these trails, just because I was there. To  be  honest, to say I am hiking the Great Loop is just a way of creating a goal for myself. Also to create a concept for those following my eccentric excursion , a means to view my progress. In reality, just like so many hikers on the long trails these days, I am simply just out hiking a lot of trail.

I have been using another journal site where you can find more details at:  http;//trailjournals.com/glideon

I will keep you posted as to my progress in more detail shortly.

But for now, always remember to keep gliding on!  Yours on our nations incredible trails,

Glider aka David Kiel

 

2 thoughts on “Going Loopy in the Wild West

  1. David, nice meeting you today on the trip to Augusta. Great blog here, and you are amazing to do this ‘loop hike’. Good luck on all your travels. Gene Sentz, Choteau, MT 59422-0763

    Like

Leave a Reply

