End of the Line

What a strange, wild and wonderful trail we tread. I have reached the end of the line for my autumn hiking season in New Mexico. I stopped hiking in  Northern New Mexico in late September. Having began hiking from the Arizona trail starting May first, I have been on the trail for a long time. I have only hiked about 900 miles this year, but I spent many days on the ground out in nature. I took long stays in most of the trail towns getting a feel for the local scenes and geography. I met many very interesting and helpful people over the past months, but only two hikers on the GET and handful of CDT SOBO’s between Cuba and Pie Town. Because I often carried extra food, I hiked slow days and spent more time on the trail alone without seeing anyone for days on end. Very meditative. Played my ukelele a lot. Really enjoyed having it along.

Echoed the words of Woodie Gutherie. I ‘m walkin’ down the line, I’m walkin’ down the line. I’m walkin’ down the line. My feet will be a fly’in. Let me tell you bout’ my troubled mind.

I found the Grand Enchantment Trail challenging.I feel I had a successful experience hiking from The Arizona Trail to the Continental Divide Trail. North from there, after the Gila Wilderness and all that wading in the West and Middle Forks of the Gila the route used a lot of road. Most of the route finding was far easier on the CDT in New Mexico then on the Grand Enchantment Trail. (The GET is actually more of just a route.) I found the road walking on the CDT sometimes a relief, not having to worry too much about being off track.

Now I am kind of lost in a different kind of way. I have not decided where to continue on the quest of hiking the Great Loop. In the mean time I have staying at the Oracle Chalet Village Motel. Rather squandering my Social Security funds. I have just needed a rest from camping and have been enjoying the amenities of civilization we take for granted. But then how strange to have a TV and to be following our crazy presidential trail. Yikes what culture shock.

Next year I will start southbound on the CDT from Glacier National Park. That will not be until June or July. I am excited to think about that.

Now off to find some hot springs in the desert.

http://trailjournals.com/glideon

West Fork of the Gila River
West Fork of the Gila River
Mineral Creek Canyon
Mineral Creek Canyon

541873

Home Sweet Home. Camp at Jordan Hot Springs.
Home Sweet Home. Camp at Jordan Hot Springs.
Jordan Hot Springs
Jordan Hot Springs
1498
Cabezon Peak, New Mexico
2 thoughts on “End of the Line

  1. I found your trail journal online and was curious if you would be interested in participating in thru-hiking related research.

    My name is Lara and I am a Master’s student at Prescott College conducting thesis research on gender, sustainability and thru-hiking. My research is specific to previous PCT thru-hikers. I am currently seeking voluntary research subjects for the study.

    All interested parties must undergo preliminary interviews to see if they match certain variables of interest needed for the study. Consequently, there will be many interested subjects who will not be selected as part of the study group.

    If you are interested in participating in the study, please send me a message. If you know of any Pacific Crest Trail thru-hikers who may be interested in this study, please feel free to pass this message forward.

    Thanks so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

